The Idea Fund

The Idea Fund is a re-granting program administered by a partnership of DiverseWorks, Aurora Picture Show and Project Row Houses and funded by The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. The Idea Fund supports individual artists, curators, collectives, collaboratives or partnerships in the greater Houston area. Grant recipients receive funding for projects that exemplify unconventional, participatory or social practice, conceptual, innovative or entrepreneurial, or activist artistic practices. Grants are competitive and awarded by a panel consisting of arts professionals from around the country and a past Idea Fund grant recipient. 

For Round Ten (2018), the Idea Fund Jury awarded a total of $50,000 to the following artists: Pamela Council; Bill Davenport; Brian “PlutoLenz” EllisonFailure to Con/Form (Ching-In Chen, Jorge Galvan Flores, Cassie Mira Nicholson, John Pluecker, Addie Tsai); Sebastian Gomez de la Torre; Alex Goss; Shana Hoehn; jenaeveeve; Nick Vaughan and Jake Margolin; Monica Villarreal; and Laura Wellen.

The Idea Fund provides cash awards to artists at three distinct levels: Spark ($1,000), Catalyst ($4,000), and Stimulus ($7,000) artist-generated, or artist-centered projects that exemplify the unconventional, interventionist, conceptual, entrepreneurial, participatory, or guerrilla artistic practices that occur outside of the traditional frameworks of support. Support is provided for individual artists, curators, collectives, collaboratives, or partnerships from the Houston metro area (Harris, Galveston, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Waller, Chambers, Liberty, and Montgomery counties).

Representative Image
Paraspace Books, Idea Fund Grantee | Photo by S Rodriguez