Glasstire: Project Row Houses and UH Announce 2019 Fellows

Full article by Brandon Zech

Today, Project Row Houses (PRH) and the Center for Art and Social Engagement (CASE) at the University of Houston’s Kathrine G. McGovern College of the Arts announced the two artists selected to participate in the organizations’ 2019 fellowship program. Since 2017, when the fellowship was started with a $100,000 gift from Suzanne Deal Booth, the program has brought one local artist and one US-based artist into Houston’s Third Ward to develop collaborative projects that positively impact the community. The 2019 fellows, Texas-based Libby Bland and California-based Sarah Rafael García, will be mentored throughout their year-long fellowship by PRH’s Ryan N. Dennis, and CASE’s director, Sixto Wagan.

Glasstire: Plan a Trip! Project Row Houses to Lead Smithsonian Tour in D.C. This Summer

Full article on Glasstire

Project Row Houses in Houston is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, and part of that year-round celebration includes PRH’s trip to Washington D.C. in August to host a tour of the nation’s capital and the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, which opened two years ago. PRH is inviting to public to sign up for an all-inclusive tour package.

Glasstire: Project Row Houses Announces Summer Studios Residents

Houston’s Project Row Houses (PRH) recently announced the recipients of its 2017 Summer Studiosresidency. The program, which is structured around a six-week-long residency, brings in college and university students and teaches them about the concepts and experiences of PRH. (While this is a great program unto itself, it is also a way to skirt using PRH’s unairconditioned houses as public exhibition spaces during the hot summer months). In this spirit, many of the projects that come out of the Summer Studios program have a community-centered focus. Artists selected for this year’s Summer Studios include:

Colby Deal, University of Houston
Barbara Gamiz, University of St. Thomas
Maureen Lax, University of Houston
LeAirre Morris, Texas Southern University
Luis Parra, Houston Community College
Faith Schwartz, Texas Southern University
Heather Wright, Rice University